Bay District Schools has a new Teacher of the Year. The top five took the stage at the annual dinner at Edgewater Beach Resort. The top five are:Gregory Barron from Mosley High School, Jimmy Owen from Rosenwald High School, Jeffrey Stem from Surfside Middle School, Shannon Warren from Hutchison Beach Elementary School, and Lynette Shields from Tommy Smith Elementary School. The overall winner was Gregory Barron. Barron is an economist with a degree in finance. When the recession hit, he found himself on the unemployment line, and changing careers. He became a teacher. “Winning the award was not expected, it’s a complete surprise” Barron said. Barron wins a tropical cruise, three thousand dollars and a gift card. He now goes on to the state teacher of the year event.