Bay District Schools continues free breakfast and lunch programs


BAY COUNTY, Fla. (WMBB) — As many residents across Bay County are still recovering from the aftermath of Hurricane Michael, Bay District Schools are working with students and families as much as they can.

Bay District Schools announced on Thursday that they will be continuing their free breakfast and lunch programs for the 2020-2021 school year. 

“Research shows that a child will do better if they are not having to worry about their food,” said Bay District Schools Deputy Superintendent Sandra Davis.  

This is the second year in a row that the Federal Government will fund free breakfast and lunch programs. In the 2018-2019 school year, the federal reimbursement for breakfast and lunch to Bay County was over $6 million, saving a family of 4 almost $1,500 a year.

There will be 30 different schools participating in the free meal program, that does not include  Bay County’s Charter Schools.

“I think that it is very important to all of the families that are trying to recover that they have one other thing they do not have to worry about,” Davis said. 

Keri Weatherly is the principal at Lucille Moore Elementary School. She says she sees the impact these meals have on her students every day. 

“It keeps them engaged in the classroom,” Weatherly said. “They are not hungry and they are not worried about their next meal when they are here at school.” 

Here is the full list of Bay District Schools participating in 2020-2021 school year program: 

  •  A. Crawford Mosley High School 
  •  Bay High School 
  •  J. R. Arnold High School 
  •  Deane Bozeman School  
  •  Breakfast Point Academy
  •  Rosenwald High School 
  •  Rutherford High School 
  •  Jinks Middle School 
  •  Merritt Brown Middle School 
  •  Mowat Middle School 
  •  Surfside Middle School  
  •  Callaway Elementary School
  •  Cedar Grove Elementary School
  •  Merriam Cherry Street Elementary School
  •  Deer Point Elementary School
  •  Hiland Park Elementary School 
  •  Hutchison Beach Elementary School
  •  Lucille Moore Elementary School
  •  Lynn Haven Elementary School
  •  Margaret K. Lewis School in Millville
  •  New Horizons Learning Center
  •  Northside Elementary School
  •  Parker Elementary School
  •  Patronis Elementary School
  •  Southport Elementary School 
  •  St. Andrew School at Oakland Terrace
  •  Tommy Smith Elementary School
  •  Tyndall Elementary School
  •  Waller Elementary School
  •  West Bay Elementary School

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Local News Video

Muskegon-area woman gets tatted at 103 years old

FBI 'extremely concerned' for missing mother of toddler found wandering alone in Florida

Suspect charged with murdering 5-year-old Wilson boy appears in court

Dolly Parton voices support for Black Lives Matter movement

Wilson police searching for man wanted in killing of 5-year-old boy

Man sought after 5-year-old killed in Wilson shooting, police say

More Local News

Golf Pass