Rip Current Statement

Published 02/08 2016 03:32AM

Updated 02/08 2016 05:03AM

Issued at: 02/08/2016 7:00:00 AM EST
Expires on: 02/09/2016 7:00:00 AM EST
Counties affected: Walton FLZ108-115-090830- /O.NEW.KTAE.RP.S.0018.160208T1200Z-160209T1200Z/ SOUTH WALTON-COASTAL FRANKLIN- 328 AM EST MON FEB 8 2016 /228 AM CST MON FEB 8 2016/ ...HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ THIS MORNING THROUGH TUESDAY MORNING... THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN TALLAHASSEE HAS ISSUED A HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK THROUGH TUESDAY MORNING. * SURF HEIGHTS...4 TO 5 FEET. PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS... THERE IS A HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS. RIP CURRENTS ARE POWERFUL CHANNELS OF WATER FLOWING QUICKLY AWAY FROM SHORE...WHICH OCCUR MOST OFTEN AT LOW SPOTS OR BREAKS IN THE SANDBAR AND IN THE VICINITY OF STRUCTURES SUCH AS GROINS... JETTIES AND PIERS. HEED THE ADVICE OF LIFEGUARDS...BEACH PATROL FLAGS AND SIGNS. IF YOU BECOME CAUGHT IN A RIP CURRENT...YELL FOR HELP. REMAIN CALM...DO NOT EXHAUST YOURSELF AND STAY AFLOAT WHILE WAITING FOR HELP. IF YOU HAVE TO SWIM OUT OF A RIP CURRENT...SWIM PARALLEL TO SHORE AND BACK TOWARD THE BEACH WHEN POSSIBLE. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO SWIM DIRECTLY AGAINST A RIP CURRENT AS YOU WILL TIRE QUICKLY. && $$

comments powered by Disqus