Washington County Welcomes New Commissioners

CHIPLEY, Fla. - On Tuesday morning new Washington County commissioners were sworn in to serve residents for the next few years.
The board welcomed Commissioners Tray Hawkins (Dist 3) and Steve Joyner (Dist 5).
"We want to bring camaraderie to Washington County, security to Washington County, and make sure the people of Washington County - their voices are heard, and I am looking forward to working with this board to see that happen," said Hawkins.
Hawkins now fills the seat previously held for twenty years altogether by former commissioner Charles Brock.
"He was on there, he was a great leader of Washington County and he left me some big shoes to fill," said Hawkins.
Joyner said he's fit for the job.
"He can fill them...he's a good guy. I'm looking forward to working with Mr.Hawkins, and he'll do a good job," said Joyner. 
He also said the board is ready to tackle some new projects on the agenda.
Some of those projects include grants for school sidewalks, and a recreational paddle trail.
"We've had a new high school, middle school, and new elementary school, new courthouse, and we've got the addition of new four lanes coming through the county also," said Joyner.
Also sworn in was Alan Bush (Dist 1) who was re-elected during the primaries.
The board also voted on a new chairman and vice chairman.
Commissioners Charles Kent (Dist 2), and Todd Abbott (Dist 4) will serve those roles respectively.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center