Belle Robbins is a "Big Deal" in Bay District Schools

PANAMA CITY, Fla. - In Megan Peters' third grade class at Northside Elementary School, she is teaching students different character traits in addition to reading, writing, and arithmetic. Belle Robbins remembered one of those lessons recently when she and her classmate were headed home on the school bus.
"That day Belle and her friend had gone to a different bus stop by mistake so when they got off the bus and saw the friend's parents weren't there the friend told Belle she was very worried," Peters said.
"So we walked over to her house and the door was locked. I asked her if she wanted to come back over to my house. My parents were there, and I asked them and they said yeah, yes. She got to stay there awhile, and we did our homework," Belle explained.
"It's nice they got to spend some time together, and they did their homework," Peters said.
Belle's friend was able to call her family and make it home safe.
"Belle had courage when she walked her to her house and made sure she was ok and didn't leave her alone," Peters said.
Each week, News 13 partners with Sonny's Barbecue and Bay District Schools to present the It's a Big Deal Student's Care award. Students are nominated by their teachers each week and the new winner is announced every Monday on News 13 Live at Five.
The nominees this week are:
Arnold High - Taylor Bradley
Breakfast Point Academy - Austin Cornell
Cedar Grove Elementary - Nathan Gray
Deer Point Elementary - Franklin Keeley
Haney Technical Center - Demetrius Enis
Hiland Park Elementary - Alianis Torres
Jinks Middle - Jason Andriano
Lucille Moore Elementary - Stella Harris
Lynn Haven Elementary - Megan Pittman
Cherry Street Elementary - Chace Crawford
Margaret K Lewis - Jeremy Goodwin
Mowat Middle - Liberty McLean
New Horizons Learning Center - Michael Tedeschi
Oakland Terrace Elementary - Amiah Johnson
Oscar Patterson Elementary - Nyla Parker
Rising Leaders Academy - Davalyn Odom
Rosenwald High - Vincent Keith
Rutherford High - Emily V. Elliott
Southport Elementary - Jason Sapp
Springfield Elementary - Kelan Foreman
St. Andrew School - Jayla Peterson
Tommy Smith Elementary - Nathan McLemore
Tyndall Elementary - Kensington Brown
Waller Elementary - Allison Glenn
West Bay Elementary - Riley White

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center